That Day

when,
will we at last step into that blinding daylight?
coming up,
over the crest of all things,
clambering in full run,
into the brace of that well-lit day?

where the sunset will finally be ours,
as we come together fully,
like swaths of glory in the sky.

at times, it seems so long.

but for now, it is enough,
to slip silent,
into the cloistered quiet,
of our green chapel,

You and i

and whisper together,
about the coming of
That Day.

Amen

“Then we who are alive, who are left, will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and so we will always be with the Lord.” ~ 1 Thessalonians 4:17

6 Replies to “That Day”

    1. Hi Lily!
      With that image, I was referring to how I feel sometimes when I enter into God’s presence through prayer. When I focus on Jesus, suddenly I find myself in the most beautiful place I could imagine, a sweet intimacy where we meet in absolute solitude!
      This poem was all about longing for the day when all believers will go to heaven to be with Jesus Christ. It will be so glorious, and sometimes it seems like such a long time to wait for Him to return, but I can still meet Him in prayer until that day!

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it, and I pray that you know that kind of fellowship with God through Jesus Christ. It truly is the best thing on this earth!
      If you ever want to just talk about God, or have any questions about my relationship with Him, chime in any time!

      Meanwhile, keep up your masterful writing. I love your words!

  1. There’s some beautiful phrases in here – I love “the brace of that well-lit day”, “when the sunset will finally be ours” and “like swaths of glory in the sky”. A wonderful reminder of our ultimate hope. Thanks!

    1. Thank you for your kind words about my blog, I like yours too! Unfortunately I have been on a long hiatus and logged in those this wonderful comment too late. But thank you so much for the nomination, it means so much and I’m honored to know you thought of me!

      Keep up your writing!

Leave a Reply

