Place of rest

Lord,
with Your aching tenderness,
brushing my face, drawing my hair aside,
You capture me with Your quiet,
the unending, heartbroken persistence,
of Your devoted love.

forcing quiet, with Your tenderness,
ignoring restlessness, with Your continued embrace,
You draw my aching feet onto Your lap,
and oil all the wandering away.

why do You want so much to give me,
what only You can give?

why, unfold the eager shelter of Your side,
when Lord, I would only soil that place,
as my soul continues to clamber up,
to cast about,
to seek other gods,
to own?

still,
pressed close, moving in,
hands soft, arms lifted,
You come.

sweet-breathed,
constant,
and quiet,
washing the face of Your ungrateful child,
You come.

and the working of Your fingers,
as You ponder me, and steadily breathe,
draws this soul, into a lavished calm,
Lord, not found in all this earthen place.

for who is like You?

gentle…
and lowly…
in heart.

Amen

 ” Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” ~ Matthew 11:28-30

“Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him.” 
~ Isaiah 30:18

~~~~~~~~~~~~

…I pray with all my heart, that you let go of yourself, and give in, to receive what He is wanting so much, to give you today…

Leave a Reply

