“One thing…”

O’ Lord,
please Lord, would You replace my “today”
with the white, steady, inflections
that rise from Your perfect throat,

with the cool, calm voicings,
that hushed storms, rebuked troubling winds,
and made blind eyes to see?

Dear Lord of the Sabbath,
would You wash again, my wandering feet
pulling aside the open door
of Your adopting power
as You call me “child…” once again.

the Same through the ages,
i cast myself and all my tangled hopes on
You,
the one who turned with compassion
to hear a beggar’s cries,

You
the conscious and yet “unconscious” power
that with only the haphazard grasping of Your
passing cloak,
healed the eaten years of one woman’s life.

rise on me,
the same Sun that blinded her eyes,
and brought meaning, and brought rest,
forgive my dusty, wandering feet,
and draw me close,
in the streets of our Jerusalem,
where You meet me here,

O’ Lord, of wholeness, Lord of peace,
forgive,
and rise with Your healing purpose,

over my erring, earth-bound hopes,
and with Your two, always outstretched hands…
draw me to grasp,
with all my heart,

the hope,
that is always ready for having:

Yourself.

Amen

 

 “But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things,  but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”
Luke 10:41-42

2 Replies to ““One thing…””

Leave a Reply

